What Christmas Mean to Me

Today, the 25th of December 2014, many people from all walks of life and in many countries around the world are celebrating Christmas. Despite the day being a public holiday for almost all countries, I really wonder what people think about Christmas. On several occasions, I have listened to conversations and debates about the meaning and purpose of Christmas. All presented arguments have their weaknesses and strengths and each particular camp advances its theories, assumptions and speculations.

Generally, it is an agreed fact that historical evidence does not point to Christ as born on December 25th. Also, it does not give us the particular date of His birth and nowhere has Jesus Christ himself ever taught about the remembrance of His birth but death. It is also quite true that the Bible when it speaks of birthday celebrations in the bible, they have always been associated with negatives and we have seen the righteous prophets cursing the day they were born.

Christmas actually means the death of Christ (Christ’s mass) as it was first used in the Catholic Church, and we have evidence that the word actually came to full usage around 1284 AD. There is no biblical evidence or record that proves to us that Christmas was instituted by the early Church through God’s revelation or formulated from the apostles’ teaching. While some have argued for the Christ of Christmas, or the real meaning and purpose of Christ, I have sought to advance my understanding on the subject and below are my presuppositions:

  1. Christmas to me is a reminder of the sacrifice and humility of the God-Man, Christ Jesus who chose to become incarnate to redeem me from sin and the power of death and the devil. Without Christ’s incarnation, it would have been impossible for Him to die on the cross for me.
  2. Christmas to me is a constant reminder of my sins and the love of God who judged those sins in Christ who partook the body of flesh just to ransom a wretched sinner like me.
  3. Christmas to me is a universal declaration of God that salvation has finally come on earth to the descendants of Adam and that salvation is God’s free gift that is found only in Christ.
  4. Christmas to me is a sign that God has remembered and visited His people, for the Word became flesh and tabernacled among us, full of grace and truth!
  5. Christmas to me is a time of giving and receiving as I stand in amazement and awe when I remember that God is the greatest giver and sacrifice of all eternity. He gave all He had, His best! Unlike many today giving sweets and little things of no value, God gave what was so dear to Him; He gave Himself to save humanity.
  6. Christmas to me means my life is an extension of Christ’s life and work on earth and hence, I have to share the good news of God’s grace and salvation with sinners and bring them to Christ’s kingdom.
  7. Christmas to me is victory over sin and the devil for since God’s children have flesh and blood, Christ likewise incarnated to conquer on our behalf and save us and in Him, I am more than a conqueror.
  8. Christmas to me is a sign of God’s superior wisdom in choosing just one Man to die, once and for all, to obtain an eternal salvation and redemption for mankind instead of the blood of animals who needed to be slaughtered day by day. Yet, He ever lives to make intercession for us!
  9. Christmas to me means that my relationship with God was made possible by the sacrifice of Christ which began with his humility followed by his sacrifice and exaltation!
  10. Christmas to me means I have every reason to be happy and merry, shout and dance with family and friends because I am now at peace with God because of Christ. If Christ was not come in the flesh, there could not be any salvation for me. I am saved, healed, delivered and kept by God’s power through faith! Hallelujah! This is Christmas for me!

Merry Christmas and a prosperous new year!

One thought on “What Christmas Mean to Me

Leave a Reply

